Dr. Tomer Anbar has been elected as 2012 incoming Chair of the Pain Rehabilitation SIG of the American Pain Society (APS). The SIG specializes in biopsychosocial multidisciplinary programs targeting rehabilitation in chronic pain patients. Initial foci includes such issues as identification and demonstration of therapeutic components in pain rehabilitation; research into ways to improve treatment outcomes and decrease disability; and efforts to demonstrate cost effectiveness to payors.

The American Pain Society (APS) is a multidisciplinary organization of basic and clinical scientists, practicing clinicians, policy analysts and others who research and treat pain and advocate for patients with pain. The mission of APS is to advance pain-related research, education, treatment and professional practice.

The American Pain Society is the U.S. chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP). IASP is the largest multidisciplinary international association in the field of pain, bringing together scientists, clinicians, health care providers, and policy makers to stimulate and support the study of pain and to translate that knowledge into improved pain relief worldwide. Currently IASP has more than 6500 individual members from over 100 countries.

Dr. Anbar is Director of Chronic Pain Associates R&D program, and is Founder and former Clinical Director of the Chronic Pain Rehabilitation Program at Scripps Health in San Diego. He is Founder and former Chief of Clinical and Research Psychobiology at the National Institute of Neurology and Neurosurgery, a component of the World Health Organization in Mexico City. He previously served as President of the San Diego Group Psychotherapy Society.

Dr. Anbar’s work has been honored with the Aaron Stein Memorial Award from the American Group Psychotherapy Association. His research and clinical programs have been covered extensively by the media, featured on NBC, PBS, WGN and American Medical News. Dr. Anbar’s insight in the area of senior living and health care has received 14 national awards and has been featured in numerous publications. He is a member of the International Association for the Study of Pain, the American Pain Society, the American Chronic Pain Association and the Society of Behavioral Medicine.


Comments are closed.